Kim Smith receives I Love That Lady award

Published: Friday, February 28, 2014 at 03:51 PM.

The committee is already accepting nominations for next year’s “I Love That Lady” award.

“The whole concept [for the award] is that it’s a humanitarian effort,” Jane Maulucci, who is next year’s chairman, said.

Nominations in the past have come in a variety of forms. 

“Some of them that were submitted, it was a dossier. You’d think they were going for the Nobel Prize,” she said. Other nominations were simple letters of description, “Look at what this lady is doing. It could be as simple as a handwritten note,” she said.

The winner never knows she has been selected until the prize is announced at the banquet. If the winner hasn’t happened to purchase a ticket for the night, Maulucci said, they have ways of getting them there. “It’s a girls’ night out,” she said. “We coerce people to come.”

The committee members are Kim Briele, Gay Price, Thea Kincaid, Amy Solter, Pinkie Moore, Laura Towarnicky, Holly Willis, Jane Maulucci, and Chrissy Hurst. Also helping out with this special fifth anniversary event were Peggy Barnes, Carol Brooks (last year’s winner) and Leigh Wilkinson.

Bill Hand is a reporter for the Sun Journal.

1 2 3

Reader comments posted to this article may be published in our print edition. All rights reserved. This copyrighted material may not be re-published without permission. Links are encouraged.

▲ Return to Top