Election filing ends with race for Havelock's county board seat

Published: Tuesday, March 4, 2014 at 04:32 PM.

A race for county commissioner to represent parts of Havelock became official as candidate filing for the 2014 elections closed on Friday.

Incumbent Lee K. Allen will face a May 6 primary challenge from current Havelock commissioner George Liner for the District 6 seat. The winner of the Republican race will then face Democrat Arland L. Bell in the November general election. District 6 covers most of the Havelock area.

Incumbent Theron McCabe will not face any opposition to keep his District 5 seat that covers eastern Craven County as well as the Tucker Creek area.

Incumbent Republican Steve Tyson, who represents areas west of Havelock such as Carolina Pines, faces a challenge for his District 7 seat from Democrat Greg Muse.

Also on the county level, five-term Craven County Sheriff Jerry G. Monette faces a challenge in the primary from fellow Democrat Eric Smith, and two Republicans, Fred “Chip” Hughes and Ernest Thomas, also face off in a primary in an effort to become sheriff.

Craven County Clerk of Court Terri W. Sharpe, a Democrat and a lawyer who faces voters for the first time after her appointment to fill the position held by retired clerk Jan Canon, now has a November challenge from Republican Mark W. Griffin of Dover. Griffin ran unsuccessfully for N.C. House in 2010.

For the N.C. House, Republican Michael Speciale, elected to represent Craven and Pamlico counties for the first time in District 3 in 2012, will face Democrat Whit Whitley in the general election.

1 2

Reader comments posted to this article may be published in our print edition. All rights reserved. This copyrighted material may not be re-published without permission. Links are encouraged.

▲ Return to Top