Three now seeking mayor's seat

Published: Monday, July 29, 2013 at 08:27 AM.

The municipal election in Newport went from no candidates for mayor to a three-way race.

Three additional candidates, two of them for the mayor’s seat, entered the election Friday as the extended filing period for Newport came to a close.

Ray Muns, a former Carteret County commissioner, filed for mayor as did Dennis R. Barber. They will join Douglas R. Arden, who filed earlier in the week, in the three-way race to be the town’s next mayor.

Derryl Garner, who has served as mayor for 36 years, is not seeking re-election.

There will also be a contested race for two open council seats.

Kim B. Mullins filed Friday, becoming the fourth candidate for the Newport council. The others seeking a council seat are Jim “Mac” McCoy, Frank Smith Sr. and Mark D. Eadie.

The regular candidate filing period for the 2013 municipal elections ended July 19. The Carteret County Board of Elections allowed for a five-day extension for Newport when only one candidate had filed by the end of the regular deadline. 

Reader comments posted to this article may be published in our print edition. All rights reserved. This copyrighted material may not be re-published without permission. Links are encouraged.

▲ Return to Top