Osprey pilots are the first to receive Distinguished Flying Cross

Published: Wednesday, June 26, 2013 at 04:40 PM.

“It was a pretty interesting day. I probably wouldn’t want to go through it again.”

The following Marines were decorated with Air Medals for heroic actions during the June 27, firefight: Capt. Joel. A. Vandenende, Capt. David R. Austin, Sgt. John M. Leist, Sgt. Shane M. Moreland and Sgt. Matthew E. Belleci. 

1 2 3

Reader comments posted to this article may be published in our print edition. All rights reserved. This copyrighted material may not be re-published without permission. Links are encouraged.

▲ Return to Top