Voting continues until 7:30 p.m.

Polls are open across the area as voters cast their ballots for president and other races

Those who plan to vote today must already be registered.

The polls will remain open until 7:30 p.m., and anyone in line at 7:30 p.m. will be allowed to vote, no matter how long the line is.

Havelock-area precincts include the Havelock Tourist and Event Center, the Harlowe Community Center and the Township Six Volunteer Fire Department in Carolina Pines.

The presidential race is receiving national attention, but voters will also decide U.S. Senate and U.S. House races, along with state offices that include governor and lieutenant governor.

Local races include N.C. House Dist. 3 between Republican incumbent Michael Speciale and Democratic challenger Marva Fisher Baldwin.

The N.C. Senate Dist. 2 race features Republican incumbent Norman Sanderson and Democratic challenger Dorothea White.

The non-partisan race for Dist. 3B Superior Court judge pits Robert McAfee against Josh Willey.

The election also includes four Board of Education races that are voted on county-wide, including Stefanie King and Eddie McKeel in Dist. 1, Carr Ipock and Ashley Smith in Dist. 3, David Hale and Karen Fink in Dist. 5, and Joseph Walton and Sarah Benischek in Dist. 7. Fink had announced her intention to withdraw from the Dist. 5 race but her name remains on the ballot.

For more information about voting, call the Craven County elections office at 636-6610 or go online to the county elections website at